Nick Lambert of Northern Abbey – Featured Northwest Artist

Nick Lambert is not only a musician, he is also a musical producer. In the interest of full disclosure I should tell you that Nick Lambert is related to me. Through marriage. And no, I don’t have to compliment him because we’re related. You can listen to his music and decide for yourself. (It’s good.) His most recent solo album is fantastic. It sounds like it should be the soundtrack to an awesome movie. It’s called Northern Abbey and it’s well worth your time to take a listen. 🙂 He’s also involved in three other bands. Read on to find out more about this very busy fellow.

PQ: Describe your approach to your art.   Nick: I’m a very spur of the moment person, and have to capture things when I’m feeling inspired. So when it comes to writing music, it usually is when I’m really feeling it, like if I catch myself humming a tune in my head that’s new, then I have to do something with it immediately, or there’s a chance it’ll blow on by. That’s how the Northern Abbey EP came about. I woke up one day and felt it was something I needed to do. I knew how I wanted it to sound, so I booked the studio time that day, and a few months later had it all finished. Also, I tend to have a flurry of ideas when I get something new, as in, a new pedal, or new plug-ins for recording. I’ll just write and write using the new tools, and sometimes something great comes of it.

PQ: Why do you love art and design?   Nick: I love seeing something that came from the human mind.  We are so amazing, and it’s always such a treat seeing what we can come up with. Especially when we’re not trying to be amazing.

PQ: Why do you love music?   Nick: It is a part of me. It is who I am. I think I was very lucky to have a grandma that was so into music while I was growing up. She always would play records and piano and violin when I was a kid. I remember loving it, but it wasn’t until high school that it suddenly became clear that music was something I wanted. Not just to listen to, but to make. I composed my first song when I was 14. It wasn’t great, but I was extremely proud of it.

PQ: Where are you most inspired?   Nick: Hmm. This one is tricky. It can happen at anytime. Talking about music with my friends will cause it sometimes. Listening to music can as well, but I really try to avoid it so I don’t do something that’s already been done. Even though . . . it’s all been done. haha

PQ: What is your artistic good luck charm?   Nick: You know, I’ve never had a good luck charm for anything. Maybe I should look into one for being inspired more frequently.

PQ: What natural gift would you most like to possess that you don’t already?   Nick: I feel I’m really mediocre at a lot of instruments, but I would LOVE to be amazing on at least one instrument. Preferably the cello.

PQ: What is your motto?   Nick: If you want to do something, anything, do it. NO EXCUSES.

PQ: What advice would you give to a young person who dreams about doing what you do?   Nick: Don’t expect to become an overnight success. EVER! It’s about doing what you love. And the amount of love and labor you put into it is the amount it will reward you. If you love it, work hard for it, and you are passionate about it, you will succeed.

PQ: What is your biggest success?   Nick: Two things. One was being in a band for seven years and loving every moment of that journey. We learned so much, and it shaped me into the musician I am today. The second thing was being asked to record and play guitar for a band that I’ve respected for almost 10 years, Falling Up, and being lucky enough to become friends with all of them.  Resulting in my partnering with Jessy [Ribordy] in forming our own scoring and sound design studio, Osiander.

PQ: What is your biggest regret?   Nick: Not taking lessons for the instruments I love.

PQ: What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?   Nick: Letting your fear of failure stop you from doing anything.

PQ: What is your dream of happiness?   Nick: I’m pretty damn happy right now. So, um…this? haha

PQ: What is the one physical object you currently desire?   Nick: A Cello

PQ: What is one emotional thing you currently desire?   Nick: Relief from school debt.

PQ: Whose work, other than your own, are you most excited about right now?   Nick: This is kind of lame because I’m a minor part of it, but the new The River Empires. It’s gonna be great.

PQ: What are you currently reading?   Nick: I just finished The Passage by Justin Cronin, and it was AWESOME! I highly recommend it. I also recently finished three little books that I’m sure no one has heard of, The Hunger Games.

PQ: What are you currently listening to?   Nick: This is embarrassing. I really should, based on my musical tastes as of late, not like this band at all, but I am really digging Mother Mother. It’s just pop-tastic. ha. I also have been listening to the new Punch Brothers album and the new Andrew Bird album.

PQ: Who is your favorite painter/artist?   Nick: I’ve never been as “into” art, as I would like to be, but the artists I really respect right now are two of your previous “artists of the month.” NO THEFT and my brother, Brian Lambert.

PQ: Who are your favorite musicians?   Nick: Whoever I’m working on a project with or jamming with.

PQ: Who are your favorite writers?   Nick: Is it not cool to say George R.R. Martin anymore? Cause I liked him way before HBO did.  And, since I loved the book, The Passage, so much, Justin Cronin is up there now.

PQ: Who is your favorite poet?   Nick: Billy Collins

PQ: Who are your favorite heroes/heroines in fiction? (t.v., movies, or books)   Nick: Jon Snow from  A Song of Ice and Fire and Amy from The Passage.

PQ: Who are your favorite heroes/heroines in real life?   Nick: This could be a strange answer, but I really respect Chris Hardwick for making his own empire on nerd-dom. If I could do the same thing he’s done, but with creative artists/musicians, I’d feel like I’d done a great thing.

PQ: What do you most value in your friends?   Nick: So much. I could never describe it all.

PQ: What are your greatest strengths?   Nick: My ability to just put myself out there for something that I want to do, and my almost OCD-ness to getting projects I believe in done.

PQ: To what faults do you feel most indulgent?   Nick: Does me saying, ‘Being a Foodie,’ count?

PQ: What is your favorite virtue?   Nick: Acceptance. Even if you strongly disagree. You don’t have to agree, but neither do they.

PQ: What is your favorite vice?   Nick: I never call them vices. 🙂

PQ: What, to your mind, would be the greatest of misfortunes?  Nick: Seeing someone’s potential to be great squandered.

PQ: What would be the happiest of good fortunes?   Nick: Becoming debt free.

PQ: What is your favorite color?   Nick: Ice

PQ: What is your favorite hot beverage?   Nick: Any Ethiopian pour over

PQ: What is your favorite item of clothing?   Nick: Jackets!  Any and All.

PQ: What is art?   Nick: It is anything that is created or done from passion.

(You can also find Nick working on music in The Gloomcatcher’s facebook page or on their bandcamp site.)

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,
