Obsession Sessions: Rap

If I’m going to be fair, I have to credit Kreayshawn for reigniting my interest in this current obsession.

I was perusing Adam’s GQ (which I tend to read much more than he does) and flipped onto this article about the petite youtube rap sensation. Maybe I’m getting old. Maybe I’m just out of touch.(Hours locked up in a room in front of a computer writing will do that to you.) But I hadn’t even heard of this girl. So, of course, feeling the need to be caught up, I watched Gucci, Gucci on youtube. Fun. I can do that.

As a teen I subsisted on a pretty varied diet of music. Rap being one of them. Snoop, Wu Tang Clan, Tupac, and Jay-Z to name a few. Now, rap playing in the background is a constant.  MTV jams, hits, and whatever other three-letter-word channels they can add, are constantly being flipped through. (I play mahjong while listening to them.) I whisper along with the lyrics. I get braver and talk along with the lyrics. I may even actually verge on rapping along with the lyrics. (Sometimes.) I’m immersing myself in rap. T.I., Eminem, Drake, Lil’ Wayne, Tupac, Biggie, Jay-Z, Kanye, Lil’ Kim, to name a few. I have a notebook I’ve begun to fill with lyrics, scratching out bad lines, adding new ones, and finding free beats on youtube to try out my delivery skills. (Those can definitely use some work.)

It’s crazy fun!  I’m playing with social commentary in most of my rhymes. But I definitely sprinkle liberally with innuendo, swagger, and a little bit of smack talk. I find that it is really satisfying to think in constant rhyme.

Am I trying to be a famous rapper? No. Am I trying to become a youtube sensation? No! Am I enjoying catching little snippets of life and putting them down in lyrical form? Absolutely!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Obsession Sessions: Rap

  1. willwindow says:

    We should rap together sometime (after drinks :-). Right now I’m listening to Tribe Called Quest, the Roots, Das Racist, Nas (illmatic), and Slum Village. If you haven’t, go YouTube Michael Jackson by Das Racist.

    • petra says:

      Make it two drinks and you’ve got a deal. 🙂 Going to check out Das Racist and Slum Village now. Both new to me.

Comments are closed.

