Brian Lambert of Old Fun Design – Featured Northwest Artist

I’ve had the pleasure of knowing this featured artist for quite a while and am so impressed with the growth he has made in that time. Brian Lambert is not only a super nice chap, but he’s also extremely talented. I hope to work with him on a few projects in the future.

PQ: Describe your approach to your art.  Brian: It kind of varies depending on the project but music is always a big part of the process. I find, especially for album covers and concert posters, that it’s very easy to lose myself in the music of the artist and base my work off of the images conjured by the music itself. Even when the project is not for something directly related to music I try and find music that has the same feeling that I want for the piece I’m doing. This helps me keep the design or illustration more focused. Also, I can kind of get in a funk if I’ve been working for a long time on a project without music, so it’s good to keep that from happening. On the more basic side I always do some sketches before I start working on the computer. Usually these are very rough, just getting an idea of where I’m going, but sometimes I’ll spend a couple days just sketching before I get something I feel is worth taking to the computer.

PQ: Why do you love graphic design?  Brian: It’s really fun. Creating pictures and images has always been something I loved to do and, quite frankly, it makes me happy. There’s also a sense of discovery to the whole thing. You don’t really know what you’re going to end up with when you start and there’s something about that that’s really exciting. I love creating back stories to my work even if no one else ever knows what it is, simply because I feel like I’m creating the next Hobbit or Legend of Zelda. It’s exciting making an adventure even if you’re only making one image of that adventure.

PQ: Where are you most inspired?  Brian: Pretty much the classics. The shower. The car. Walking around. But I do find Cannon Beach to be very creatively invigorating. Something about the peacefulness of the place kind of kickstarts my creative juices. Might be the salt air or just the pace of life there but whatever it is I love it.

PQ: What is your artistic good luck charm?   Brian: Music. I feel like I’m lost when I design without it.

PQ: What natural gift would you most like to possess that you don’t already?   Brian: Painting. I can draw but painting has always baffled me. It’s something I need to learn. Musical talent is a close second.

PQ: What is your motto?   Brian: Stay positive.

PQ: What advice would you give to a young person who dreams about doing what you do?   Brian: Just keep doing it. Even if your not getting paid. Eventually you’ll hit a threshold and you’ll break through as long as you just keep working at what you love. Or so I hope!

PQ: What is your biggest success?   Brian: It’s probably a piece I just did for The River Empires. It was for a band I absolutely love and admire and I was able to deliver a piece I was extremely proud of. Hopefully there will be some more things like that in the future.

PQ: What is your biggest regret?   Brian: I guess just not taking more drawing and painting classes. It’s something I know now would have been very useful but I got scared that design and illustration was just a pipe dream so I focused on other things in school.

PQ: What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?    Brian: Something I’ve had the blessing of never experiencing.

PQ: What is your dream of happiness?   Brian: To be a successful illustrator with a loving wife and family.

PQ: What is the one physical object you currently desire?   Brian: A Wacom Intuos5 Touch Tablet! It’s actually something I really need. Let the saving commence!

PQ: What is one emotional thing you currently desire?    Brian: Legos. There’s so much that is me that is attached to those little bricks. I still constantly want to get them even though I rarely do.

PQ: Whose work, other than your own, are you most excited about right now?   Brian: Kevin Dart. His illustrations compared to most are like comparing a three course meal to a stale cracker! He is legit.

PQ: What are you currently reading?   Brian: Bone by Jeff Smith. If you want an amazing graphic novel this is the one to check out! It’s glorious!

PQ: What are you currently listening to?   Brian: The new Andrew Bird album. Break It Yourself. It’s beautiful. As is all of his work.

PQ: Who is your favorite painter/artist?  Brian: Honestly its Kevin Dart. I’m a wee bit obsessed.

PQ: What graphic designers are you loving right now?  Brian: I’ve been getting a real kick out of Lab Partners. Their work is so wonderful. It’s the kind of stuff that just fills you with joy!

PQ: Who is your favorite musician?   Brian: Honestly Andrew Bird is my favorite musician. That’s why I’ve been listening to his newest album almost constantly.

PQ: Who is your favorite writer?   Brian: It’s a bit of a cliché at this point but George R.R. Martin has to be my favorite. His writing pulls me in like no other author. He has a way of making every character, even the ones you hate, understandable and relatable.

PQ: Who is your favorite poet?   Brian: Don’t hate me, but I don’t really read any poetry.

PQ: Who are your favorite heroes/heroines in fiction? (t.v., movies, or books)   Brian: Well, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit this but, Shepard, from Mass Effect, is my favorite. As silly as this is to say he’s “my” character and yet he still has an awesome personality of his own. Those games created such a unique connection with the character, one that I’ve never found before. Not even in a book. Plus he saves the whole galaxy so that’s pretty neat. I also love Jon Snow from George R.R. Martin’s books as well though. You really feel for him as he goes through his trials and he’s written in such a way that I’m always rooting for him. Every time it comes to a chapter about him I get super stoked. Tyrion Lannister is another favorite of mine. I get such a kick from his character. He’s one of those characters that you just can’t help but like.

PQ: Who are your favorite heroes/heroines in real life?   Brian: Probably Genndy Tartakovsky. His animation style, particularly on the show Samurai Jack, is my absolute favorite. His work is really what inspired me to get to the point where I am now, as well as to keep working towards bigger things.

PQ: What do you most value in your friends?   Brian: Probably just the knowledge that they’re always there for me.

PQ: What are your greatest strengths?   Brian: Coming up with fun ideas and my illustration ability.

PQ: To what faults do you feel most indulgent?   Brian: Is coffee a fault? Because I’m very indulgent to it. I’m also very indulgent to television, especially comedies.

PQ: What is your favorite virtue?   Brian: Faith.

PQ: What is your favorite vice?   Brian: I hate to label it a vice but probably video games.

PQ: What, to your mind, would be the greatest of misfortunes?   Brian: To lose my hands or sight. I’m fine if I only lose one hand but both is a no go. And I couldn’t do the thing, design/illustration, that I love with out my sight or hands.

PQ: What would be the happiest of good fortunes?   Brian: To get hired by Invisible Creature.

PQ: What is your favorite color?   Brian: I’m going to go with cream, or some neutral color like that, because they make such lovely bases for art work. But if it comes to decoration I’m really into peach colors right now. Or emerald green with turquoise or navy blue. So good.

PQ: What is your favorite hot beverage?   Brian: In the morning it’s coffee. Anytime between noon and 5 it’s créme de la earl grey, and anytime after that it is chamomile tea.

PQ: What is your favorite item of clothing?    Brian: My grey wool sweater from J.Crew.

PQ: What is art?    Brian: Well this is a hard question. We seem to have preconceived ideas on what kind of format art can be portrayed through, but the way I see it even doctors can be artists. To me art is really anything that brings you joy. It may not be great or ground breaking art, but who really cares.  It’s all in the way you approach something. Take a fisherman for example. If he really enjoys his work he is most likely approaching fishing the same way I approach design. He’s been working and perfecting the skills needed to do his job for a long time and what he is doing is just as much art to him as the designs I do are to me.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Brian Lambert of Old Fun Design – Featured Northwest Artist

  1. […] PQ: Who is your favorite painter/artist?   Nick: I’ve never been as “into” art, as I would like to be, but the artists I really respect right now are two of your previous “artists of the month.” NO THEFT and my brother, Brian Lambert. […]

Comments are closed.

