Petra’s Favorites from 2011

Although 2011 was a fairly lean year for us, I still managed to find a few fabulous things that I would love to share with you. (And while some of the things on this list were not newly introduced this year, they are new to me.)

Music:

Videos:

I love this Kimbra video. The imagery is fantastic. And the song is fun too.

And, on a similar note (a Kimbra note), this Gotye video is amazing too. Love the way they show the emotion of the song with the addition and subtraction of paint.

Songs:

Adele – Someone Like You

Ellie Goulding – Lights (Bassnectar Remix)

Little Dragon – Crystalfilm

Lykke Li – I follow Rivers

The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow

(To name just a few.)

Food and Beverages:

Seaweed Crisps – These snacks are amazing. Adam and I lived for them during our editing. And my sister was kind enough to keep us supplied. Not only the seasnax brand, but Annie Cheung’s and green chopstick’s too. Yum.

Television:

Adam and I are big fans of good tv. And sometimes that can be hard to find. But we did have a few successful new discoveries.

Misfits – Amazing. Simply brilliant. Great dark comedy. (Note: This show has graphic images and language, so be forewarned.)

Switched at Birth – And with a complete 180° change, I really enjoyed this family show. It is so beautiful to watch people sign and this show inspired me to start learning American Sign Language (ASL). It is like yoga and dancing for the fingers. And the moments of silence during the show are a beautiful and innovative change to television viewing.

So, those are just a few of the great new things I discovered this year. I would love to hear yours.

Tagged , , , , , , ,
