imperfectly perfect

 

 

While I was editing our recently published novel, Manly Hero, I was completely focused on the idea of perfection. (And, if I’m honest, that’s not the only time perfection is my ideal.)

In my interaction with editing, the font had to be perfect, and so did the spelling and grammar. Then there’s the story; no holes, no incongruities, no awkward time jumps.

I’ve spent sleepless nights thinking about these things (to name just a few). I’ve also spent many a dream editing page after page of unending story.

The big question I find my self asking is, how can I make something perfect?

The answer consistently keeps surprising me. And yes, consistently, because I’ve had the answer all along. (I’m also about to make Adam very happy, because it’s his idea I’m going to quote.) Adam always says, “Perfection is in the doing.”

And now to make Adam even happier: he’s right. (+10 pts for Adam.)

I admire many writers, artists, fashion designers, and yogis that are far from perfect. And I mean this as a sincere compliment.

The reason I can admire their imperfection in the first place is because they’ve put themselves and their work out there for me to enjoy. They haven’t worried themselves out of creating, displaying, noting, and then creating again.

Here comes the fun part of being imperfect. The next step. During the writing of our novel I’ve learned something. Lots of somethings, in fact. Things I might not have learned if I hadn’t made mistakes. And I’m excited to take those new pieces of knowledge and experience and apply them to our next book.

There is something very wonderful about the excitement of building something using what I know, letting go, and then starting all over again.

Now for one last realization. Inside the idea of imperfect, there’s a sneaky little secret. Simply add a doodle, then some space, and tada! ‘Imperfect’ becomes ‘I’m perfect.’ (There is a fabulous symmetry to me that an imperfection in ‘imperfect’ becomes perfection.)

I sit at the end of this project and I am reminding myself that our book, which is now sitting on ebook shelves, is exactly the way it is supposed to be. The process and we the creators are perfect. Because we are doing. And that makes me feel (a bit) better.

Hey, ‘a bit’ counts. After all, it’s not like I’m completely perfect. 😉

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “imperfectly perfect

  1. Tamara says:

    I also love the picture. Apostrophes are magic little items!

  2. petra says:

    I just love the idea of PRACTICING yoga. 🙂

  3. Tamara Milliken says:

    Love that you included yogi’s in that list! ❤

Comments are closed.

